Posted on

Developing My Personal GAME Plan

After reading the National Education Standards for Teachers, I compared them to what my personal goals are.  I found two standards that I wanted to improve on and master during my teaching career. The first standard is to “engage students in exploring real-world issues and solving authentic problems using digital tools and resources” (ISTE, 1997-2009).  This standard interests me because I believe it fits in very well with social studies.  Part of the curriculum I teach is real world issues and what better way to do that by using technology to learn about them. 

 

The second standard is to “collaborate with students, peers, parents, and community members using digital tools and resources to support student success and innovation” (ISTE, 1997-2000).  This standard stood out to me right away.  I have envisioned a 21st century classroom and community where little pencil and paper is used.  Where students get immediate feedback on their work and where parents, teachers, and students are all connected in a twenty-four hour classroom.  I can envision a classroom that is totally redefined by technology because students are independent and innovative.

 

To meet these goals, I will begin to integrate technology based lessons into my class daily. By integrating technology daily, I will be teaching my students to become independent learners and innovative thinkers.  I want to create a website where students go every single day to get their assignment.  From there, I want to incorporate Web 2.0 activities and give each student individualized learning to help each student succeed in my class.  I believe technology can help teachers reach more students because it makes lesson easier to individualize.  Cennamo, Ross, and Ertmer (2009) reference Rose and Meyer (2002) who said “Universal design for learning (UDL) suggests that teachers can remove barriers to learning by providing flexibility in terms of options for materials, methods, and assessments” (pg. 117).  I would love for my classes to have no barriers of the type and the amount of learning that gets done by every single child.  I will know when I have reached my goals when I have included technology in every lesson and I act more as a guide to social studies then as a teacher of social studies. 

 

The way that I plan on extending my learning of these standards is to teach other teachers to use the technology skills that I have learned.  My school has just hired someone with a similar job description and I would love to be able to help more students in my school, not just in my classroom.  I figure the best way to do that is to teach other teachers to use technology in their 21st century classroom.

                                                                                         References:

 

Cennamo, K., Ross, J., & Ertmer, P. (2009). Technology integration for meaningful classroom use: A standards-based approach.                 Belmont, CA: Wadsworth, Cengage Learning.

International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE). Retrieved from http://www.iste.org/standards.

About dericow11

Educator, life-long learner....

4 responses to “Developing My Personal GAME Plan

  1. Bonnie White ⋅

    Social studies touch on so many real world problems. Using technology to address the real world problems would benefit the students as well as create a 21st century classroom. Their are so many possiblities that technology could take y9our classroom in. from blogging with other classrooms in various states or countries to facetime or even going on virtual fieldtrips or set up election campaigns. The possibiloities are endless. Technology can be integrated slowly with one or types of programs or software to a completly integrated classroom.

    I think it is great that you want to have a paperless classroom. Alowwing students to receive grades instantly on some work. These same students are used to recieving instant gratification and by using programs that automatically grade their tests or assignments would makie this possible.

  2. Cheri Handley ⋅

    Your goal of having a complete digital classroom is a lofty goal. I applaud your desire to create this type of world for your students. What will you do if students don’t have access to required technology outside of the classroom? How will you acclimate your parents to this type of classroom since I assume a fully digital classroom would be a new experience for them as well as your students.
    How will you approach the monitoring stage of the GAME plan? For example, how will you handle the student that does not have permission to use the internet or computers at school? I know I have swamped you with questions, but I truly want to live this dream vicariously through you and these are just a few examples of conflicts that would arise at my school. I think you have a well thought out Plan and important learning goals for your students as well.

    Cheri Handley

    • dericow11

      What will you do if students don’t have access to required technology outside of the classroom?

      Great question! Right now I have only a few students that do not have access to technology outside of school. For those that do not, I encourage them to come before school or stay after school in order to have access to technology. In cases where this is not possible, I still have resources and activities planned that allows the students to master the content without technology. Traditional methods of education do still work, although I prefer the 21st century model of teaching.

      How will you acclimate your parents to this type of classroom since I assume a fully digital classroom would be a new experience for them as well as your students?

      Bringing the parents along is always the toughest part of the process. Many of my parents still expect my students to bring home a textbook. However, through constant communication and face to face conversations, the majority of my parents have come on board. After all, their main goal is to make sure their children receive the best education possible, and they are willing to make sacrifices and changes to their thought process if needed to achieve that goal. Also, my classroom is always open to parents to come in and observe and participate in the lessons, which goes a long way convincing parents to buy or provide access to technology for their children.

      How will you approach the monitoring stage of the GAME plan? For example, how will you handle the student that does not have permission to use the internet or computers at school?

      Again, every student has permission to use the Internet. It would take something very egregious to cause a student to lose permission to use the Internet. In an extreme case, I still have lessons and activities that the students can complete in order to reach mastery. Also, these students can still use their technology at home or outside of school, similar to a flipped classroom. Lastly, these students can partner with a classmate that does have access and permission to use the Internet.

  3. Erin Merritt ⋅

    Derico,
    I am so impressed with your enthusiam in connecting your students’ lives to real-world situations. For as long as I can remember, that has been a standard of social studies curricula that I have known, but today the possibliities of making that a reality seem much more accessible to teachers and students alike. Having your own website is something that I think will make a big difference in the lives of your students. Having them check in there will help students with attendance issues, students who need to hear or see conent again, and students who plan on furthering their education and become more familiar with online learning. What a great way to connect to your students with your integrated 21st century classroom!
    Erin

Leave a comment